Artist News Awards Business News

Nominees announced for AIM’s awards

By | Published on Wednesday 3 August 2016

Aim logo 2016

The Association Of Independent Music yesterday put out all the nominees and shortlistees and people who should retain some hope at its Independent Music Awards this year, which take place in London town on 6 Sep. And here they bloody well areā€¦

Hardest Working Band Or Artist: Darren Hayman, Kamasi Washington, Martyn Joseph, Run The Jewels, Shaodow

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Christine And The Queens, Father John Misty,
Flume, Neck Deep, Pvris, Stormzy.

Best Live Act: Babymetal, Caravan Palace, Courteeners, Sunset Sons, Wolf Alice.

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: Kda, Sigala, Wolf Alice, Tchami.

Independent Album Of The Year: Arca – Mutant, Brian Eno – The Ship, Field Music – Commontime, Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – Blossom, Lapsley – Long Way Home, Little Simz – A Curious Tale Of Trials + Persons, Press To Meco – Good Intent, Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool, Roots Manuva – Bleeds, Skepta – Konnichiwa.

Independent Track Of The Year: Adele – Hello; Christine And The Queens – Tilted; Field Music – The Noisy Days Are Over; Flume – Never Be Like You; Ghetts X Rude Kid – One Take; Major Lazer Ft Nyla & Fuse Odg – Light It Up [Remix]; Protoje Ft Chronixx – Who Knows; Radiohead – Burn The Witch; Skepta – Man; Roots Manuva – Don’t Breathe Out.

Independent Video Of The Year: Darwin Deez – The Mess She Made, Grimes – Kill V. Maim, Kaytranada – Lite Spots, Oscar – Sometimes, Yeasayer – I Am Chemistry.

Best Difficult Second Album: Daughter – Not To Disappear; Fat White Family – Songs For Our Mothers; Melt Yourself Down – Last Evenings On Earth; Money – Suicide Songs; Savages – Adore Life.

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: British Sea Power – The Compleat Illustrated British Sea Power (Vol 1); Mikael Tariverdiev – Film Music; Slade – When Slade Rocked The World; Various Artists – Ork Records: New York, New York; Various Artists – Leaf 20 Box Set.

Best Small Label: Beatnik Creative, Earth Recordings, Holy Roar, Local Action, Numbers.

Independent Label Of The Year: Because Music, Bella Union, Epitaph/Anti, Moshi Moshi, Ninja Tune.

Golden Welly Award For Best Independent Festival: Barn On The Farm, Beat Herder, Brainchild Festival, Pete The Monkey, Strawberries & Creem Festival

Indie Champion Award: Chris Bye – Arts Council England / Liverpool Sound City; Jen Long – Dice; Jess Partridge – London In Stereo; Jon Tolley – Banquet Records; Mary Anne Hobbs – BBC 6Music.

Outstanding Contribution To Music: Roisin Murphy

Pioneer Award: Richard Russell, Xl Recordings