Artist News Awards

Oram Awards to celebrate female innovators in music and sound

By | Published on Friday 20 July 2018

Oram Awards

Recognising talented female creators innovating in music, sound and related technologies, this year’s Oram Awards will be formally handed out later today. And this year’s winners are: AJA, Georgia Rogers, Hannah Catherine Jones (aka Foxy Moron), La Leif and Loraine James.

The five chosen artists will each receive an £800 bursary from the PRS Foundation. The ceremony to formally hand out the prizes takes place at the Blue Dot festival in Cheshire this afternoon, presented by Ana Matronic.

“Standing at the intersection of visual art, music, production and broadcast technology is the great Daphne Oram”, says Matronic of the composer, musician and BBC Radiophonic Workshop co-founder the award is named for.

“There is no figure more fitting to invoke while honouring the work of emerging female artists and engineers, and it’s a true honour to be a part of the second Oram Awards”, the one time Scissor Sister and now Radio 2 presenter adds. “May her genius live through the work of these incredible women – congratulations to all the recipients!”

PRS Foundation chief exec Vanessa Reed chips in: “We’re delighted to be celebrating the second Oram Awards at Bluedot Festival this year with Matthew Herbert and the New BBC Radiophonic Workshop. There are many talented and exciting female music and sound innovators in the UK and the Oram Awards is a brilliant way of recognising and supporting their work and promoting role models for the next generation”.

Find out more about the awards and the winning artists here.