Artist News Release Round-Up Releases

Release round-up: Epworth’s U2 remix, Black Lips, Sam Smith, Rustie and Py

By | Published on Wednesday 18 December 2013

The Black Lips

Rounding up the latest release news…

Is there a single thing in this life finer than U2‘s new Nelson Mandela tribute, ‘Ordinary Love’, as features on the score to this year’s ‘Long Walk To Freedom’ biopic? Well, Paul Epworth‘s ‘version’ of that same track, naturally. Even Bono thinks the mix is “a very soulful, uplifting one”, so see if you feel the same by playing it here:

Elsewhere, having planted the idea of their latest LP, ‘Underneath The Rainbow’, in fan’s minds recently, Black Lips (pictured) have since made it flesh by streaming inner track ‘Boys In The Wood’. Preview ‘Boys’ here pre the LP’s release on 18 Mar 2014:

BRITS Critics’ Choice winning artiste Sam Smith has made the timely revelation that he’ll release his first LP, ‘In The Lonely Hour’, on 26 May 2014. Smith will pay forward his first official single ‘Money On My Mind’, meanwhile, on 16 Feb. See a trailer for the LP here, and give the track a whirl, here:

Because it’s Christmas and all, Glaswegian label LuckyMe Records yesterday gave away a new track by Scots electro hotpot Rustie. It’s titled ‘Terra Star’, and is the latest in a series of prizes the label is revealing day-by-day, in an advent calendar kind of style. Single out ‘Terra Star’ for special listening below, and find all LuckyMe’s December-time MP3 gifts here.

Last in this shortlist of topical release newslets is London-based alt-pop vocalist Py, who on 10 Mar 2014 shall place her new single ‘Swimming Slow’ in shops. Whilst ‘on the day’ it’ll be twinned with remixes by Throwing Snow, Gang Colours, Sweater Beats and Citizen, hear the track in its original form now:

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | |