Artist News Release Round-Up Releases

Release round-up: MIA, R Kelly, Ryan Hemsworth and East India Youth

By | Published on Friday 18 October 2013

Ryan Hemsworth

Rounding up the latest release news…

MIA previewed an extra feature to her new LP, ‘Matangi’ yesterday, rephrasing Drake’s track ‘YOLO (You Only Live Once)’ in new song ‘YALA’, which is short for ‘You Always Live Again’. Sharing it via Twitter, she added the post-it: “If you only live once why we keep doing the same shit?”. Fair point. ‘YALA’ is available to those advance-ordering ‘Matangi’ from 22 Oct. ‘Matangi’ itself, meanwhile, is released 4 Nov. This is what 1 minute 26 seconds of ‘YALA’ sounds like:

Oh, and a quick note on R Kelly‘s ‘Black Panties’, which will now ‘drop’ (sorry) on 10 Dec. Originally slated for an 11 Nov release, the LP’s month-long postponement is, says an R rep via Rolling Stone, because Mr Kelly and team are making “final tweaks” to all its silly, silly tracks.

Moving on to a good kid who’s handed in his LP assignment on time, it’s over to CMU approvee Ryan Hemsworth (pictured). The Canadian mix whiz’s ‘Guilt Trips’, which carries collaborations with Sinead Harnett, Tinashe and Lofty305, is streaming on Pitchfork’s oft-inoperable Advance player pending its release next week, so have a try at hearing it via that.

Taking prime ‘finale’ place in this release synopsis is new Stolen Recordings singing East India Youth, real name William Doyle, who yesterday released his first official video, ‘Looking For Someone’. First out earlier this year, the track will feature on EIY’s very first LP when that arrives in 2014. Watch the video below, and bone up on its concept via this Quietus quiz with its director Joe Spray.