Artist News Releases

Robbie Williams announces heavily entertaining new album

By | Published on Monday 26 September 2016

Robbie Williams

Coinciding with his Apple Music Festival show at The Roundhosue in London last night, Robbie Williams has announced that he will release his new album, ‘Heavy Entertainment Show’, on 4 Nov through the Columbia label. It will be the singer’s first album for Sony Music, having signed to the major back in May.

Of the album’s title, Williams says: “I was musing over the phrase ‘light entertainment’ – all the huge TV shows from when I was a kid, 30 million people watching them, this huge shared experience of these moments called light entertainment. Sometimes it can be levelled at people in a bad way, but for me that’s heavy entertainment. That’s what I’m hoping to do with this album – to have a shared experience with millions of people through the medium of light entertainment… but on steroids”.

It’s not clear if that musing happened while watching Nick Helm’s TV show of almost the same name. Though I’m pretty sure that wasn’t a literal admission that Robbie Williams is taking steroids at the end.

The album, if you take the full, sixteen track deluxe version’s tracklist into account, features songs co-written with Guy Chambers, John Grant, Rufus Wainwright, Brandon Flowers, Ed Sheeran and Stuart Price.

Here’s a trailer:

And here’s the tracklist, which also reads like the back of a Nick Helm album:

Heavy Entertainment Show
Party Like A Russian
Mixed Signals
Love My Life
Bruce Lee
David’s Song
Pretty Woman
Hotel Crazy (feat Rufus Wainwright)
When You Know
Time On Earth
I Don’t Want To Hurt You (feat John Grant)
Best Intentions
Marry Me