Artist News Awards

SXSW announces second Grulke Prize winners

By | Published on Wednesday 19 March 2014

Damon Albarn

SXSW Music has announced the winners of its second annual Grulke Prize, a set of awards launched last year in memory of the festival’s late Creative Director Brent Grulke, who died in 2012.

Damon Albarn took the Career Act award, which is handed to an established artist who performed at the most recent SXSW festival to reinvent themselves or launch a new project.

Meanwhile, there are two awards for new US and non-US artists, which this year were given to Future Islands, and Irish group The Strypes.