Artist News Releases

That Rick Rubin-produced Star Wars-themed dance music compilation you wanted is about to come out

By | Published on Wednesday 10 February 2016

Star Wars Headspace

Disney is releasing a ‘Star Wars’-themed dance music compilation produced by Rick Rubin, with various producers creating tracks using sounds from the film franchise. Because… well because Disney reckons it’ll make money. Even George Lucas never had this idea, and that’s why he’s now living in a ditch. By which I mean, he’s incredibly wealthy but never made a dance music album with a ‘Star Wars’ theme, produced by Rick Rubin or otherwise. Unless he did. Did he? I don’t think he did.

Among the artists contributing to the record are A-Trak, Baauer, Flying Lotus, Kaskade, Bonobo, Breakbot, Royksopp, Rustie, Shlohmo and Rubin himself. It’s called ‘Star Wars Headspace’. Yeah? Well, you think of a better title if you think you’re so clever.

It’ll be out digitally on 19 Feb, then physically on 18 Mar. You can see artwork and listen to some tracks at

If you want me to now reassure you that it’s all going to be OK, the titles on this tracklist aren’t going to help at all:

1. Kaskade – C-3P0’s Plight
2. GTA – Help Me! GTA
3. TroyBoi – Force
4. Baauer – Cantina Boys
5. Shag Kava – Jabba Flow (Rick Rubin Re-Work feat A-Trak)
6. Claude VonStroke – R2 Knows (feat Barry Drift)
7. Rick Rubin – NR-G7
8. Bonobo – Ghomrassen
9. Röyksopp РBounty Hunters
10. Attlas – Sunset Over Manaan
11. Flying Lotus – R2 Where R U?
12. Shlohmo Druid Caravan Of Smoke
13. Rustie – Ewok Pumpp
14. Galantis – Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder
15. Breakbot – Star Tripper