UKMVAs presented

By | Published on Tuesday 13 November 2012

UK Music VIdeo Awards

The UK Music Video Awards were presented last Thursday, and I bet you’d all like to hear to whom they went. Well, MIA’s ‘Bad Girls’ won most definitively in three classes, not least ‘Video Of The Year’, also earning its director Romain Gavras a professional gong. One Direction were given one fan-voted ‘People’s Choice’ trophy to fight over – quelle surprise – while LCD Soundsystem and Chemical Brothers had to share the ‘Best Live Music Coverage’ title.

Anyway, the uncensored winners list:

Best Pop Video: MIA – Bad Girls
Best Dance Video: The Shoes – Time to Dance
Best Urban Video: Plan B – Ill Manors
Best Indie/Rock Video: Spiritualized – Hey Jane
Best Alternative Video: Alt-J – Breezeblocks

Best Pop Video (International): Lana Del Rey – Born To Die
Best Dance Video (International): Duck Sauce – Big Bad Wolf
Best Urban Video (International): Frank Ocean – Novacane
Best Indie/Rock Video (International): The Shins – Simple Song
Best Alternative Video (International): The Hickey Underworld – The Frog

Best Pop Video (Budget): Rent Boys – Shoot The Shot
Best Dance Video (Budget): Todd Terje – Inspector Norse
Best Urban Video (Budget): Noisses feat RTKAL, Lady Leshurr & Foreign Beggars – Run Your Mouth
Best Indie/Rock Video (Budget): When Saints Go Machine – Parix
Best Alternative Video (Budget): The Death Set – They Come To Get Us

Best Art Direction & Design: Justice – New Lands
Best Styling: MIA – Bad Girls
Best Choreography: Will Young – Losing Myself
Best Cinematography: Feist – The Bad In Each Other
Best Telecine: Temper Trap – Trembling Hands
Best Animation: Fleet Foxes – The Shrine/An Argument
Best Editing: The Shoes – Time To Dance
Best Visual Effects: Woodkid – Run Boy Run

The Innovation Award: ALB – Golden Chains
Best Live Music Coverage: Chemical Brothers – Don’t Think/LCD Soundsystem – Shut Up And Play The Hits
Best Music Ad (TV Or Online): Kasabian – Velociraptor

Best Producer: Lee Groombridge
Best Commissioner: John Moule
Best New Director: AG Rojas
Best Director: Romain Gavras

The People’s Choice Award: One Direction – Live While We’re Young
Video Of The Year: MIA – Bad Girls
The Outstanding Contribution Award: David Knight
The Icon Award: Jamie Thraves