Artist News Business News Industry People Labels & Publishers Media One Liners Releases

One Liners: Sony, PSNEurope, Fiona Apple, more

By and | Published on Thursday 2 April 2020

Fiona Apple


Sony Corporation – owner of Sony Music and Sony/ATV, of course – has launched a $100 million COVID-19 relief fund. It will seek to support three groups of people: frontline medical staff; children and educators who have had to shift over to home-based learning; and those in the creative community – including people working in music, film and TV – who have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 shutdown.

An assortment of US-based music industry organisations – including ARA, A2IM, MAC, NMPA, NSAI, RIAA and SONA – have come together to launch a website containing guidance and resources for those in the American music community negativity impacted by the COVID-19 shutdown. It principally aims to help music people navigate the various government support schemes set up by the CARES Act passed in US Congress last week. You can access it at



What is now known as the Blue Raincoat Chrysalis Group has appointed John Leahy to the role of SVP Marketing And Strategy. Leahy previously worked in marketing roles at EMI, Domino and Polydor, and has spent the last decade providing marketing consultancy, including to Ignition Records. He will work across Blue Raincoat Chrysalis’s management, publishing and label businesses.

Marathon Music Group has announced the appointment of Ophelia Conheady as Head Of A&R for its main label imprint Marathon Artists. She was previously Senior A&R Manager at Sony’s Columbia Records. “Ophelia’s creative vision, acuity for current and future trends and understanding of the artist development process has revealed her to be a forward-thinking musical innovator”, says Marathon Music Group CEO Paul-Rene Albertini.



PSNEurope – the trade magazine for the pro audio and sound industries – announced earlier this week that it would cease publishing, stating that “the economic climate brought on by the global pandemic has exacerbated already challenging operating conditions for the PSNEurope brand, and indeed its ability to continue trading”. The move doesn’t affect its American sister title Pro Sound News.



Fiona Apple‘s new album, ‘Fetch The Bold Cutters’, will be released on 17 Apr, she announced in a video yesterday.

Troye Sivan has released new single ‘Take Yourself Home’. The track, he says, “is one of my favourite songs I’ve ever written. I write these songs as a diary entry, then as life and places change and relationships change, songs can take on a new meaning entirely. Clearly that has happened for this song with what is going on in the world right now”.

Grimes has released an incomplete video for ‘You’ll Miss Me When I’m Not Around’. She’s also released the raw files from the video shoot so that you can make your own finished version. “Because we’re all in lockdown we thought if people are bored and wanna learn new things, we could release the raw components of one of these for anyone who wants to try making stuff using our footage”, she says. Check out the description on YouTube for full details.

Born Ruffians have released new single ‘Breathe’. The song, says frontman Luke Lalonde, “is about our relationship with our own memories – [specifically] focused on the uninvited memories that impose themselves on us at random times”. The band’s new album, ‘Juice’, is out this Friday.

Biig Piig has released new single ‘Switch’. The song, she says, is “about the tension, helplessness and pressure that the world is under right now. The beat and lyrics to me represents the fast pace of how the world is falling apart, and the anxious undertone of it all”.

Ben Lukas Boysen has released new single ‘Clarion’. “This song started as a simple piano line and while listening to it on loop over and over again some of the elements started to form one after the other, and depending on each other”, he says. His new album, ‘Mirage’, is out on 1 May through Erased Tapes.

Falle Nioke and Ghost Culture have announced that they will release collaborative EP ‘Youkounkoun’ through PRAH Recordings on 10 Jul. From it, this is ‘Bark√©’.

Eckoes has released the video for new single ‘The Light’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |