Artist News Releases

Will Young reworks songs by his favourite female artists on new album

By | Published on Monday 26 April 2021

Will Young

Will Young is releasing an album of him singing songs written by some of his favourite female artists, with his take on Bat For Lashes track ‘Daniel’ already streaming. Reworks of songs by Lykke Li, Muna, Robyn, Solange, Everything But The Girl and Sky Ferreira will also feature on the album.

“I’ve always enjoyed singing other people’s songs”, says Young. “There is a liberation to it. It’s how I feel when I approach a script. I have reverence for the piece of art and the artist who created it. After eighteen years of recording and performing a lot of original material, I loved the idea of creating an album that celebrates some of the modern female artists I so admire in pop”.

“In today’s times it’s so much easier and accepted to occupy other genders, ideas and explore new avenues”, he goes on. “I wanted to understand what it might be like to sing their lyrics; a song about a boy called Daniel; crying on the bathroom floor, feeling like Elizabeth Taylor. This is not a covers album as such, well certainly not in the standard way. I wanted to bring songs from female artists who I admire into a new arena”.

The album, ‘Crying On The Bathroom Floor’, will be released by Cooking Vinyl on 6 Aug featuring all the following:

Daniel (original by Bat For Lashes) Crying On The Bathroom Floor (original by Muna) Till There’s Nothing Left (original by Cam) Indestructible (original by Robyn) Strong (original by London Grammar) I Follow Rivers (original by Lykke Li) Everything Is Embarrassing (original by Sky Ferreira) Losing You (original by Solange) Missing (original by Everything But The Girl) Elizabeth Taylor (original by Clare Maguire)

You can check out the video for ‘Daniel’ here: