Artist News Awards

Anna Netrebko and Diane Warren to receive Polar Music Prize

By | Published on Thursday 13 February 2020

Anna Netrebko and Diane Warren

The winners of this year’s Polar Music Prize were announced earlier this week – they are soprano Anna Netrebko and songwriter Diane Warren. At a ceremony in June, each will receive a cheque for one million Swedish kroner (that’s a bit over £80,000).

“When I get on stage, something happens and the quality of the performance is ten times better, like I have a voice telling me what to do”, says Netrebko. “It’s always been with me. You are entering the stage to give everything you have. You have to put your soul, your heart and all of your knowledge to reach the souls of the audience. Receiving the Polar Music Prize is a big honour. I am very much looking forward to coming to Stockholm in June”.

Warren adds: “I don’t have confidence in myself as a human being, but I have unshakeable confidence in my music. When I know something is right, when I know a song is right for somebody I believe, and it’s unshakeable. Getting the Polar Music Prize is amazing, I’m so honoured. When I looked at the past recipients of it, that I could be in that company is mind-blowing”.

The ceremony will take place on 9 Jun in Stockholm and will be broadcast on Swedish national TV. The night before, Netrebko will also perform at Konserthuset Stockholm.