Artist News Awards

ARIA Awards presented

By | Published on Tuesday 3 December 2013

ARIA Awards

We’re busy people here at CMU, but never too busy to bring you yet another list of award winners. Actually, we were too busy to provide you with a list of American Music Award winners last week. But fuck it, they’re voted for by the American public, and they’re all idiots (apart from all you American CMU Daily readers out there, you’re not idiots, but we made you honorary Swedes for the purpose of that last sentence).

Anyway, here’s a link to the recent AMA winners list, meanwhile below you will find the list of winners from this weekend just gone’s ARIA Awards in Australia, which are sort of the Aussie BRITS, a really big deal down under that scored nearly as many viewers as a repeat of ‘Big Bang Theory’ for its telecast on Sunday night (according to Good times.

Best Male Artist: Flume
Best Female Artist: Jessica Mauboy
Breakthrough Artist: Flume
Best Group: Tame Impala
Best International Artist: One Direction – Take Me Home
Best Australian Live Act: Guy Sebastian

Album Of The Year: Tame Impala – Lonerism
Best Independent Release: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away
Best Adult Contemporary Album: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away
Best Blues and Roots Album: Russell Morris – Sharkmouth
Best Country Album: Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson – Wreck And Ruin
Best Dance Release: Flume – Flume
Best Pop Release: Guy Sebastian – Armageddon
Best Rock Album: Tame Impala – Lonerism
Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album: Karnivool – Asymmetry
Best Urban Album: Illy – Bring it Back
Best Jazz Album: The Idea Of North – Smile
Best World Music Album: Joseph Tawadros – Chameleons Of The White Shadow
Best Classical Album: Sally Whitwell – All Imperfect Things: Solo Piano Music Of Michael Nyman
Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album: Conversations With Ghosts
Best Children’s Album: Justine Clarke – A Little Day Out With Justine
Best Comedy Release: Tom & Alex – The Bits We’re Least Ashamed Of

Song Of The Year: Matt Corby – Resolution
Best Video: Samantha Jade – Firestarter (Christopher Frey)

ARIAs Best Cover Art: Dave Homer & Aaron Hayward of Debaser for Empire Of TheSun – Ice On The Dune
Engineer Of The Year: Virginia Read for All Imperfect Things: Solo Piano Music Of Michael Nyman
Producer Of The Year: Harley Streten for Flume