Jul 27, 2023 1 min read

Mercury Prize shortlist announced

Mercury Prize shortlist announced

This year’s Mercury Prize shortlist has been announced, with artists including Arctic Monkeys, Jessie Ware and Raye vying for the £25,000 prize for the best British and Irish album of the last year.

As ever, twelve albums make up the shortlist, with one overall winner set to be announced during a ceremony at the Hammersmith Apollo in London on 7 Sep.

The 2023 judging panel was revealed yesterday. Now setting about agreeing on which album they like best from the shortlist they’ve drawn up, those judges are musicians Jamie Cullum, Anna Calvi and Hannah Peel; broadcasters Mistajam, Jamz Supernova, Danielle Perry and Sian Eleri; music journalists Phil Alexander, Tshepo Mokoena and Will Hodgkinson; music programming consultant Lea Stonehill; and Head Of Music at 6 Music & Radio 2 Jeff Smith, who chairs the whole thing.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

  • Arctic Monkeys – The Car
  • Ezra Collective – Where I’m Meant To Be
  • Fred Again – Actual Life 3 (January 1 – September 9 2022)
  • J Hus – Beautiful And Brutal Yard
  • Jessie Ware – That! Feels Good!
  • Jockstrap – I Love You Jennifer B
  • Lankum – False Lankum
  • Loyle Carner – Hugo
  • Olivia Dean – Messy
  • Raye – My 21st Century Blues
  • Shygirl – Nymph
  • Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy
Great! You’ve successfully signed up.
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
You've successfully subscribed to CMU.
Your link has expired.
Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.
Success! Your billing info has been updated.
Your billing was not updated.
Privacy Policy